Food · Life

Banana Oatmeal breakfast muffins

I am not a morning person. I am a hit snooze until forced to get up and then begrudge the world that I am up until I finish my second cup of coffee. My husband on the other hand, pops out of bed and makes himself a nice eggs and bacon breakfast. I, on the other hand, have lighter, fiber filled breakfasts that are quick, easy, and I can eat on my way out the door.

I have said before on this blog that a spinach/peanut butter/banana shake is my go-to breakfast.

shake

However, I was ready for some variety and, well, some solids for breakfast. If you are looking for a quick make-ahead breakfast, I knew that some oatmeal muffins would hit the spot. I drew my inspiration from here, here, and here.

They can keep for a week, are healthy and fiber packed, and easy to grab and go. I recommend that if you microwave yours, pop in the microwave with a coffee mug half full of water to keep it moist.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 2 medium bananas, the older the better
  • 2 tablespoons  vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F degrees. Lightly spray the muffin cups with cooking spray. This recipe makes 9 muffins.
  2. Mix the oats, sugar, baking powder, and cinnamon until well combined.
  3. In a separate bowl, add everything else. Small chunks of bananas will remain unless you mash them beforehand. I like the banana pieces, you might not.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well (approximately 5 minutes)
  5. Divide the mixture evenly among the 9 muffin cups.
  6. Bake for 25 minutes or until muffins are dry

Enjoy, darling friends!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “Banana Oatmeal breakfast muffins

Leave a comment